July 1973 Newsletter Highlights


Brian Tudor is still the secretary and the headquarters is on The Quay in Looe


The newsletter begins by noting that Blue sharks have shown up in greater numbers at the start this season compared to last.  Mr Perrington, skipper of “Maxie” of Newquay had advised that the Gulf Stream had come 40  miles closer to the coast than last year. This statement was confirmed by Marine Biologists.  This supported the earlier view that the the colder water in previous years had reduced the number of Blues in the Channel.

He noted that interest on light tackle sharking was continuing to grow.

The Kenyan Safari advertised in a previous newsletter had been attended by Une Sahlgren, one of the clubs Swedish members and he had caught a 292lbs Mako on 80lbs line class tackle.

Mrs Agnes Ballantyne, a member of the SACGB since 1962, who lived “north of the border”, won the Thornback Ray section of the competition run by the Daily Express newspaper. The prize was a fishing holiday in the Canaries. Son February 20the this year she also caught a pregnant Blue shark, weighing 187lbs from M V Dorado off Puerto Rico which had been tagged (tag number 14734) and released.

It had been reported by Cdr. Holt that Noel Dresden (a SACGB member) had boated two sharks, 60lbs and 40lbs, on the same trace whilst fishing from the Westward, skippered by Bill Cowan, out of Looe on the 29th June

Ted Belsten, a member from Worthing had written to the club requesting to consider arranging a Light Tackle Festival. The SACGB response was that although they did  not organise festivals or competitions they would assist by putting interested members in touch with each other so they could arrange a Light Tackle fishing trip.


The weigh site had been resurfaced and was now in spotless condition

Three committee members had resigned: Edgar Were who had retired for personal reasons, Peter Maddock who had moved to Spain and therefore ineligible to sit on the committee and Phil Heathman who had moved to Dartmoor.

Three new committee members were welcomed: Ken Bones, Jack Brown and Bill Denham.

Dr, Quentin Bone and John Stevens were continuing with their tagging programme


Trophies – a new trophy had been donated to the club. It was given by Mr L Karberrv, a member from Leeds. It was to be called the Cornish Trophy and it was presented in memory of Jim Hughes who had died in a diving accident off Bahrain.

Weighmasters : Two new weighmasters were announced,  C Jenkins from Newquay and D R Harris from Bembridge, Isle of Wight


Bacardi Prizes:

The June 1973 winner was Mr N L Sercombe of New Cross, London with a 120lbs Blue caught on the 14th June, fishing from the Prosperity, skippered by L Butters, out of Looe.


Brian finished by requesting members to provide him with newsletter material as, “no newspaper editor can function without reports”


British Shark Records Committee – This had previously been chaired by Peter Maddock who had now moved to Spain, so John Wallbank had taken over as Chairman of this committee.

The 6lbs Ladies line class section had no winners and with no minimum qualifying weight he pointed out that this was a great opportunity for the Lady members.

The changes from the previous year were:

Miss Sara Ward with a British Record Porbeagle of 187lbs in the 80lb line class

Mr D Cowans British and World Record Porbeagle of 296lbs in the 130lb line class


Annual General Meeting – this had been held at the Hannafore Point Hotel. The Proposition for Life Membership was carried by 147 votes to 20 against.  Life membership was available to any member of one years standing for £20 if you were a UK resident and £10 if you lived overseas.

The list of Committee and Office Bearers are given below

President: Brig. J.A.L. Caunter, C.B.E., M.C.

Vice President: Mr. S. G. Miller

Chairman: Mr. E. T. Barnes

Vice Chairman: Mr. G. Nancollas

Mr. K. Bones

Mr. J. Brown

Mr. L. Butters

Mr. R. W. Denham

Cdr. E. St. J. Holt

Lt.-Cdr. J. S. Horrex

Mr. J. Kitto

Mr. J. Wallbank

Hon. Secretary/Treasurer: Mr. A. B. Tudor

Asst. Secretary: Mrs. N. G. Clemens

Hon. Solicitor:  Mr. R. K. Browning

Hon. Marine Biologist: Dr. Quentin Bone

Hon. Auditor: Mr. G. Pillar